Misdemeanors

Representing clients accused of a misdemeanor in Miami-Dade County, Broward County (Ft. Lauderdale area), Palm Beach County, and Monroe County (Key Largo to Key West)

Don’t be fooled. Though misdemeanor offenses are handled at County Court level and are less serious than felonies, they still carry their own set of possible long-lasting, far reaching consequences. In the State of Florida, a misdemeanor is a crime. You may face jail time. Penalties may include:

  • Jail time
  • Probation
  • Court costs

All of which may impact your life. These effects may all be reduced or even avoided altogether with proper representation. At Troy & Schwartz, our fight for our clients’ rights and best interests in misdemeanor cases. Looking at the evidence and allegations against you, we will chart a defense to represent you in court. We may be able to help you avoid jail time and a criminal record that could haunt you for years.

Misdemeanor Charges in Florida

There are two types of misdemeanors in the State of Florida. First degree misdemeanors, which can be punishable by a $1,000 fine or up to a year in jail, or second degree misdemeanors, which are punishable by 60 days in jail. Some common misdemeanors include:

If you’ve been accused of a misdemeanor, tell us about it. Call us at (305) 279-4740 or contact us online for a FREE consultation to review your options.